Friday, January 20, 2012

Janaury 19th

Once again a good day for eating but still no exercise. I am trying to find a time and routine to get into for exercise but I have yet to find something that will work.

I woke up and made my morning oatmeal and drank some coffee and juice with it. Then had a few more cups of coffee before lunch.

For lunch I had a Ham and Cheese hot pocket, a string cheese, a yoghurt and a granola bar. Over all not a bad lunch.

Between getting off of work and class I went to the computer lab at school and worked on some homework that isn't do for a few weeks. It is weird to feel like I am so ahead of the game this quarter. I spent the whole time trying to figure out how to compare two lists of students and identify witch students had changed, been added, and removed between the new and old list. I finally got it to work out by creating two loops that compared the lists. It works right so that is good but I still don't feel it is the most efficient way to do it. I have a few more weeks and a few more ideas to try to get it to be more efficient but if push comes to shove what I have will work and I can turn it in if I needed to.

In class we finally learned how to raise an event in a program. It is the last piece of the puzzle for my horse race program I started last weekend. I am hoping to apply that logic to the horse race program this weekend and be done with it.

After class I headed home and we were going to make bacon and eggs but by the time I stopped at WalGreens to pick up a few things and then got home and showered we were both starving so we decided to make a bag of pizza rolls instead. probably not the healthiest food in the world but it was faster then making bacon. I also had some Garden Salsa Sun Chips while I was waiting for the pizza rolls to cook. I don;t know how many I ate I just know that the bag was about half empty when I was done. I probably shouldn't have eaten so man chips but I really was starving. After supper I didn't have anything else so that made the chips a little bit better.

January 18th

Pretty uneventful day. I didn't exercise but I did eat good.

I got up had my morning coffee, juice and oatmeal. Then I had a few more cups of coffee on the way to and at work the rest of the morning. I do put creamer in my coffee but I try to keep it to a minimum. I am slowly working my way to drinking black coffee. :)

At lunch I had frozen mac and cheese dinner. It was not very good and I did not finish it. I also had a string cheese and a yoghurt. I had bought two dark chocolate Snickers at WalGreens last night and had planned on having one for lunch today and one tomorrow. After the highly disappointing mac an cheese dinner I ended up eating both of them. Not the best choice but I was still hungry and didn't have any other options.

At home we made dried beef chicken. You cook some chicken in the oven then when it is getting near being done you put some dried been on top of it and then some mozzarella cheese over the dried beef. It is pretty easy to make and really good. I did over cook the chicken a little but it still tasted good and you didn't notice the dryness as much when you dipped it in some Sweet baby Ray's BBQ sauce.

After supper I had the last Christmas tree cake while we watched some TV.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

January 17th

Pretty boring day with good eating and no exercise. I did stay up to late as well but I will cover that later.

In the morning I got up and had a bowl of Oatmeal, a glass of juice and a cup of coffee. I am not going to speculate on how much coffee I had today but I filled my cup up multiple times before lunch.

For lunch I had a cheese and rice frozen dinner, a string cheese, a granola bar and a yoghurt. I also brought the left over Jalapeño Jack Sun chips and finished them off as well. I once again suppressed the urge to get anything from the vending machine during lunch.

I didn't eat anything between lunch and class today. I just spent my time at school working on one of my next assignments. I got a lot of it done it just needs a little tweaking.

After class I had to grab some drugs(Prescription kind not illegal kind, come on what kind of person do you think I am) at Wal-Greens on my way home. I also bought some Snickers Bars as a treat to put in my wife and my lunches for tomorrow. I had to get three because they were on sale. I was pretty happy with my self because I suppressed my urge to eat the third one and decided to wait and have it at lunch one day this week.

After Wal-Greens I stopped at Runza and got my wife and I each a Temperature Tuesday deal(only seventeen cents for the Runzas today!). I kept them at the medium size and got a lemon aide to drink.

After supper I had a Christmas Tree cake and then stayed up to late watching the World's Strongest Man competition we had recorded on the DVR in our bedroom with my wife. But it was totally worth staying up late to spend some quality time with my wonderful wife.

January 16th

Today was bad for exercise decent for food. That sounds like a recurring them but I am really going to start trying to change that to good on exercise and food.

I was running a little behind this morning so I decided to stop and grab some breakfast at McDonalds on my way to work. I got an Egg McMuffin meal and found out that I also got a second free Egg McMuffin. That was a pleasant surprise. So I had two egg McMuffins, a coffee and a hash brown for breakfast.

For Lunch I had a Chipolte Chicken hot pocket, a yoghurt, a string cheese and a granola bar. I was able to successfully suppress my urge for a candy bar today!

When I got home we were going to go look at houses at 5 so we had decided to eat after we got home from that. I had a bit of a irritating/stressful/annoying/bad day at work so I grabbed a bag of chips and munched on a few of those and had a Christmas tree cake before we left to look at houses.

We went and looked at four houses and we liked two of them so 50% on the night was pretty good.

The first house looked nice in pictures but it was a little rough on the inside. It was a forcloser so it didn't surprise me that most of the appliances were gone. What did surprise me was that through out the entire up stairs of this split level every baseboard had been removed. Then in the basement there was a bright pink bathroom that was a turn off right away. Then there were all of these little boxy rooms. We think judging by their size and wired outlets in the rooms that they might have been used as a Grow House. With all of the problems with this house and the price it was removed from the list of houses we like.

The second house we looked at was a small two bedroom house but you could tell the person had taken the time to care about the house. It had all new windows upstairs and all wood floors upstairs. They had redone the kitchen and it was very nice with new appliances. The basement had a family room, a laundry room, a furnace room and a storage room. It all laid out very nicely and there was a lot of usable space down there. The part of the house I really liked was the outdoor areas. Off the back door it had a nice large wooden deck. Then on the side of the one stall garage it had a large covered patio. The garage was one stall but it had a half stall work area in it and was very deep. Then the drive way was two cars wide and at least two cars deep, maybe three cars deep. Over all we really liked this house and it climbed to near the top of our list.

The Third House we saw another split level. It was an OK house but it felt like it needed some work and it just didn't feel like a house we could make out own. So we removed the house from our list as well.

The last house we looked at was like 3 blocks from our current house. It was a two story town home with a basement. It was actually a little larger then our current house but since it was in foreclosure it was very cheap. We really liked it and it went to the to of list until we found out the next day that it had sold.

After we got done with the last house we made a short trip home. For supper we made sandwiches and had chips. I toasted my bread and had mustard, mayo, roast beef and mozzarella cheese on my sandwich. It was very tasty and went will with some spicy Jalapeño Jack Sun Chips we had. After supper I had a Christmas tree cake and then a few M&M's before I went to bed.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

January 15th

Today I got a fair bit of exercise and did a pretty good job eating. I would call it a good day all in all.

I didn't have any breakfast because we were getting the final touches on the house before we had our open house. I have always read that house work counts as exercise so I am going to count that as a little. The open house went pretty well. We had 7 groups of people come through so hopefully one of the groups will want to buy it.

After we got the house cleaned up we dropped the cat off at my sisters house and grabbed a bite to eat at Wendy's before we went to look at some open houses. I had a spicy asiago chicken sandwich, large fries and a frosty. I love frostys so I have to large size me meal to get a larger frosty. Not the healthiest meal but I could have done worse I guess.

My main exercise came from the fact that we couldn't park in front of almost any houses we looked at. On the bright side we saw one house that we really liked and a few others that were nice.

The first house we looked at was a spilt level nut it had a lot of room in it for a split level. The up stairs was nice. It had three bedroom and and a bathroom. It also had a nice deck off the dinning area. We liked the new wood floors through out the entire upstairs living areas as well. The only down side was that the house needed a lot of paint. There was a pink and a blue bedroom. Also all the cabinets in the kitchen were a dark pink color. The down stairs had a nice large family room, a fourth bedroom/office, and a laundry/bathroom. It was very nice and much larger then I expected. The living area downstairs was red but I kind of liked it. The back yard was a nice size and it had a shed witch I like. It also head a Hot Tub. It didn't say anything about the hot tub staying in the info on the house but I would try to work it into the offer of the house.

The second house we saw was a smaller 2 bedroom. It had been worked on but it just didn't feel like it would fit us. The price was a little high and it was on a busy street with no street parking so we took it off the list of houses we like.

The next house we looked at was a cute little 2 bedroom house. This one we had to park about 2 blocks away from so we got a walk in on the way there and back. It was a cute little house with a nice little eat in kitchen. It had two bedrooms and a bathroom that was nice. Some had done a little work to the house but not a lot. The basement was clean and unfinished. It had a nice little back yard and a very small garage that was on a kind of busy street. We didn't totally throw this house out because we liked the area and it was cute but it is not in the love pile of houses either.

The next house was by far the worst of the day. It was very small upstairs with no updating at all. But the basement was the killer. Some one had finished the ceilings in it so low that I had to duck in most of the basement to walk around. And the stairs to the basement were so vertical I felt like I was going to fall down them and I had to bear crawl up them. Needless to say this one went in the trash pile before we even got out of the house.

The last house we looked at was nice little house on a busy street. We kind of liked this house because it had some nice updating in the kitchen and all new windows through out the entire house. The basement had been finished a long time ago and would need some work to make it a usable space again but there was a lot of room down there with an extra bathroom as well. It was right across the street from the local play house and a library so that would be very fun to live at. It also had a cement pad to turn your car around on in the back yard next to the garage so you didn't have to back out onto the busy street it was on. Over all we liked the house but it went in the like pile not the love pile.

After we got done looking at houses we picked up the cat from my sisters and headed home. When I got home I laid on the couch and got caught up on some of my TV fro the last few weeks. It made for a nice relaxing day. I did do some munching while I laid on the couch. I had a few glasses of milk, a sleeve of Oreos(That was bad) and then I munched on some pistachio nuts for awhile. So I probably should have not done the sleeve of Oreos but the nuts aren't to bad for me.

Finally about seven thirty we made some rice with chicken and mushrooms for supper. It is a nice simple meal and neither of us were starving so it worked out well. Then we turned in early and got started watching the 2011 World's Strongest Man we had recorded all of on Saturday evening. It is a guilty pleasure show we watch every year.

So over all we did a lot of walking to houses and around houses so I am going to say I got a pretty good amount of exercise today and other then the Oreos I did a good job eating as well.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Movei Review for Larry Crowne

Larry Crowne was a cute movie with some heart that had a special place in my heart. Having lost my job in the last year, decided to go back to school part time and selling my house I could some what connect with Larry.

As you can guess Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts were great in their respective rolls. Tom hanks made Larry believable as a guy who was down on his luck but I liked the eternal optimism and hope he made Larry have even when he was at the bottom. I could really identify with that because I felt like that at time in the last year. Julia Roberts played a great women in a unhappy marriage who finally decides to leave and move on. Neither of these parts were ground breaking oscar winning roles but they each played the character to perfection as you would expect from two great actors.

The person who stole the movie for me was George Takei as Larry's Econ professor Dr. Ed Matsutani. His maniacal laugh and pompous over top attitude made me laugh almost every time he was on screen.

Over all this was a movie about how a person can turn their life around no matter what. It also showed just because you are down on your luck doesn't mean you can't have a good out look on life and that good things can happen to you.

I recommend adding this to your Netflix cue and if you have a had a rough go at life recently maybe push it up towards the top.

I gave this two and a half stars out of 4.

Janaury 15th Weigh In

I weighed myself on the morning of Sunday January 15th and I weighed 321lbs. That means that I lost another pound last week. I am very happy with this. I need to keep this up and I will be hitting my goal of 310 pounds in a few months.

January 14th

Today I didn't eat a lot so that was good but I also didn't get much exercises either.

We were up late on Friday night but we still for some reason got up at around 8:30 on Saturday morning. After we got up I took the Apple dessert pizza, or as we will now being calling it the apple breakfast pizza, I bought last night and made that for breakfast while we got caught up on The Bachelore from last week. I know it is a terrible show but it is just to much of a train wreck not to watch, it is like a comedy with real people. Any way I ate more of the breakfast pizza then i probubaly should have but there was only one piece left and I thought it was dumb to throw it away and pt it in the fridge. I also had two glasses of juice with it.

After the Bachelor my wife said lets go lay down and take a cat nap. I said sure I was a little tired. Well we laid down at about 10:45 and wife instantly fell asleep. I was having trouble falling asleep so I decided to get up. I figured she was going to be up an around an hour so I thought I would work on some home work from my next assignment in class until she got up. The program we had to write from scratch was a horse race. We have to read n a file of horses and then soem how display the rce on the screen. There are some other components to the program that we have not learned how to do in class yet but there was a lot of leg work that neede to be done around the program so I thought I would get some of that started. Well I started going and next thing I knew I was almost done with the leg work, it was almost 3:00 pm and my wife was still napping. I realized all of this because my Mom had called to talk about some plans for going out tonight. Luckly the phone call woke my wife up so we were able get some house work done that we needed to get done before our Open House on Sunday before we had to leave to go out to eat with my family but needless to say we did not have any lunch.

We were going out for my Sister's and her Husbands birthdays. My wife and I decided to head over to my sisters house and ride to the restaurant with them and their kids rather then both of us driving our cars all the way across town to Shogun Japaneses Seafood and Steak House and back to their place after. If you don;t know what Shogun is it is one of those restaurants where they cook in front of you and put on kind of a show about it. I am a huge fan of it my wife thinks it is over priced. I will agree it is expensive but hey you are getting a fun show plus it is the kind of place you only go to once in a great while. They started us out with a little salad with their signature dressing. i don't know what the dressing is but i love it. The we had a little bowl of mushroom soup that is basically broth, a few slices of mushroom, some green onion and a few noodles. It was very good. Next my Brother In-Law had ordered a Nebraska Sushi roll that i had two pieces of. Then the cook came out and made our main course. I had Fried rice, Vegetables, Medium Rare Filet Mignon and scallops. I also caught a shrimp in my mouth! At the end of the meal they brought an pineapple bought for the birthdays we were celebrating and took a picture of all of us. Over all not a healthy meal but not an unhealthy meal either.

After we ate we went back to my Sisters house and my Mom had gotten my Dad some gifts for his retirement. My Dad just retired from his job after working there for almost forty years. I think he is very happy to be retired. Then we got out a bottle champagne and all of us adults made a toast to my Dad's retirement.

After we got home from my sisters we cleaned teh floors for the open house. I mopped the kitchen floors while my wife vacuumed all the floors. Then we had some coupons for a dollar off of blizzards so we ran to DQ after we showered and each got a blizzard. I got a medium Chocolate Xtreme blizzard and it was awesome as usual. Then we came home got in our PJ's and cuddled up in bed to watch a movie. We had the movie Larry Crowne and it was pretty good, you can see my review on here soon.

Over all I didn't feel like I over ate today at all. I didn't exercise but I did have a fun day and evening.

January 13th

No exercise and a little over eating at lunch an in the evening makes for not the best day. On the bright side I did have a little fun in the evening.

For breakfast I had a glass of juice, a cup of coffee and a bowl of oatmeal. I also had a cup of coffee on my way to work.

At lunch I had a Chipolte Chicken Hot pocket. The thing was lava hot on the inside and I burned the roof of my mouth on my first bite. After that I had a string cheese, a yoghurt, a Twix and an ice cream sandwich. I had forgotten my granola bar so I poorly replaced it with a Twix. Then I couldn't pass up the Ice Cream that was sitting there today. I really need to work on my self control around the vending machines at work. Next week my goal is to not have a single thing from the vending machines at lunch. We will see how I do.

For super we had a friend over to play some games. I grabbed some Papa Murphy's on the way home. I bought a Cheese Bread, a Large peperoni Pizza, a Large Chicken Parmesan Delight Pizza and a Apple dessert pizza. We ended up only making the Cheese bread and the two pizzas. I had three pieces of each kind of pizza and I don;t know how much cheese bread while the three of us sat around the table chatting about random stuff. We hadn't seen out friend in awhile so we had some catching up to do. The after we cleared the table off we got out one of our favorite board games, Ticket to Ride. If you don;t now what Ticket to Ride is I recommend checking it out if you enjoy board games, and really who doesn't enjoy board games. So anyway while we were playing ticket to ride we had out a couple of bowl of M&M's that our friend had brought and we all were munching on them all night. Our friend had also brought some pop, witch I do not drink. That is unless it is mixed with alcohol. Well he had brought a two liter of Root Beer and I had been craving some Root Beer and Cake Vodka. It is such a yummy drink. All you do is put in a shot of UV Cake Vodka and then fill the glass up with ice and root beer. It tastes just like a root beer dumb dumb. I had two glasses of that while we were playing early. Apparently UV Cake Vodka makes me better at ticket to ride because I won the first game we played. After that I was getting a little tired because I am still adjusting to my 7-4 work schedule so I made a pot of coffee. I had a few cups of coffee while we played two more games of ticket to ride. Coffee isn't as helpful to me at Ticket to Ride apparently because I got second place both of those games. After that we were going to play a game our friend had brought be we all three got caught up chatting about stuff and it got to late for another game and he headed home.

So it might not have been the best day health wise but it was nice to catch up with a friend and play some games.

January 12th

Wow was it cold today and that equals no exercises for me. Food I did pretty good on though.

In the morning I got up and had a glass of juice, a bowl of oatmeal and a cup of coffee. Then on the way to work I had another cup of coffee.

For Lunch I had another package of the pizza pockets like I did earlier in the week. I had a youghrt, a string cheese, a granola bar and a Twix. I was happt I only got one candy bar out of the vending machine so that was good.

Towards the end of the day I was getting hungry and I new I would not be eating until after class so I grabbed a snickers bar from the vending machine at work and had that on my drive to class.

The last two classes I had been walking out side before class because it was so nice. Today it was not nice at all. The temperature was around ten degrees and it was accompanied by a fifteen to twenty mile per hour wind. Instead I opted to go to the computer lab and work on my home work that was due next Thursday. We had to take a program from last quarter and modify it. I was a little worried about it. From the description he had given us it sounded like it could be hard. He did give us an example program that did something smiler but the same. So I checked in to the computer lab and got dug into what I needed to do. Happily once I started really examining the sample he gave us I was able to figure out how to apply it to our homework pretty fast. It only took me about an hour to get the program modified and working they way we need it to. That made me pretty happy because it meant that I had learned and retained the knowledge from last quarter. Also I was still able to figure out how a program works and apply it to something new like I use to do all the time at my old job. It really pushed me even further toward the idea that programming is what I really like and I need to get back to it.

After class I came home and we had tastees and chips and a jar of cheese dip.

Over all it was a pretty good food day, a poor exercise day and a good programming day.