Monday, February 6, 2012

February 6th

No exercise and not the best eating today. I need to start exercising in the morning before work. I think I( have devised a good indoor work out I just need to get up and do it. Since our basement is cleaned out I am going to walk/jog laps down there. Then in the middle or at the end, I have not decided witch yet, I am going to do a push up and sit up regiment. I just need to get myself a good nights sleep so I can start getting up and doing it.

I got up and had a cup of coffee, a glass of juice and a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. Then I made my self another cup of coffee to take to work with me and left it on the counter. It really made my morning drag because I was tired.

For lunch I had the left over Chinese food from last Friday. It was sesame chicken, some steamed rice and some fried rice. I also had a Twix at the end of lunch. Also before and after lunch I had some cookies that a co-worker had brought in. I had two chocolate chip cookies, two rolo cookies and a Oreo ball. I know I had to many but they were just so good and so close. I am going to try and restrain myself tomorrow since there will still be some left at work.

Late in the afternoon I got an email from our real estate agent about the people who looked at our house last week. She had told me on Sunday that it was down to our house and another house. Apparently at the last second they decided to build a house instead of buy. It was nice to know that someone liked our house enough to have it in their final two. It also kind of sucked that they didn't buy it. But if one person liked it then hopefully we will get someone else who likes it soon.

That kind of put a damper on the evening but my wife got home and we watched some TV and had supper. We had left over supper bowl food. I had 4 pieces of pizza and 6 left over chicken wings. They all warmed up surprisingly well. The pizza really surprised me. I just threw back in the oven for about 7 minutes and it came back out crisp and delicious.

Movie Review of Ides of March

The Ides Of March was a enjoyable political drama. I mean how could you really go wrong, look at all the great actors in it. The over all story was good and the acting as you would guess was top top notch. It did drag a few times but over all it kept up a pretty good pace.

The entire movie revolves around the Democratic Primary in Ohio between two candidates. The main focus is on the campaign of Governor Mike Morris, played by George Clooney, and his staff as they try work to get him the Democratic nomination for president.

There are a lot of shady things that happen behind the scenes of the campaign and you can't help but think that it is a pretty accurate depiction of modern day politics. You have people leaking things to the press, people getting paid off, blackmail and political favours to get votes. It did a good job of keeping you guessing on how every thing was going to fall into place in the end. The cynical side of me can't help but think that things ended in the movie exactly the way the do in real politics. With people making sacrifices for what they think is greater good. Is the greater good really worth all the collateral damage? That is a question I can't answer for you.

What I can answer for you is the question of should I watch this movie, and that is a resounding yes. It is worth adding to your Netflix cue just for the acting alone.

I give this movie 3 out of 4 Stars.

Sunday, February 5, 2012

February 5th

Today I got a little exercise again because of the snow. Eating not as good due to my anual bad eating during the supper bowl.

I did not get my breakfast I this morning. I got up and did some blogging and cleaning and before I knew it it was noon. I did have a few cups of coffee though. The exciting thing was I had them with no creamer in them just straight black. I am pretty happy I am doing that. I will still probably use creamer in the early morning before work but it is nice to know I don;t need loads of creamer n my coffee any more.

For lunch we had some grilled cheese sandwiches and some cheddar sun chips. It was a nice little pre-Super Bowl meal.

After lunch I changed the kitty litter and took it and the garbage from the kitchen out. Then I pulled on a sweatshirt and cleaned off the front step and scooped off the bottom of the driveway where the snowplow had left a nice wall of wet heavy snow for me. I counted the cleaning and then scooping as my exercise for the day.

After I got back in side I got some food ready for the Super Bowl. I threw some chicken wings in the crock pot, made some lemonade and browned a pound of hamburger and pork sausage to put on our pizzas we were making later. Then I sat around and watched Super Bowl Pre-game the rest of the day.

About 4:30 a friend of ours came over to watch the Super Bowl with us. He has been having a tough time in his personal life so we spent the first half watching the game and commercials, munching on our snacks and talking with him. During the first half I had five chicken wings, plate dip and ships and M&Ms. I also had a few glasses of beer I got for Christmas. Then at half time I made two pizzas. One was a peperoni and pork sausage pizza, the other was a pepperoni and hamburger pizza. The both turned out great. I had three piece of the pork sausage pizza and one piece of the hamburger pizza and a can of beer. Then we watched the rest of the game and tried to keep our friend in good spirits until he left.

Over all it was a nice night but a little on the depressing side. I felt bad for my friend but glad that I had a wonderful wife who loves me through all the difficult time we have been through in the last year.

February 5th Weigh In

Not a good week is what I have to say about this. I gained a pound and a half putting back up to 312.5. I had a feeling with all the eating out that things would not go well. I did do well on Friday and Saturday not going out to eat and I am going to focus on that this coming week as well. Once in awhile we need a set back to refocus our selves. Trying to add some more daily exercise wouldn't hurt me either. :)