Saturday, February 4, 2012

February 4th

Well the snow storm hit last night and it looks to be as big as they said it was going to be. When we got up the yard, and every thing else, was covered in a thick heavy snow. The news said we already had six inches on the ground and there was still another four to seven inches to come. My wife had to work this morning and I didn't want her driving in this weather by her self so I drove her downtown in the truck. The side roads in our neighborhood would have been almost impassible in a car but the main roads were not terrible just snow packed and icy. I go her downtown and decided I didn't want to drive back in these crappy roads only to turn around and make the same trek again in a few hours. so I parked behind her work and walked across the street to the downtown The Egg and I. I was going to be down there for a few hours so I was glad I had the foresight to bring my Kindle with me to read. There were not to many people there so I got a lot of attention from my server. When I said i wanted a cup of coffee he spent a great deal of time explaining their coffee choices and how they make them. I chose the Rain Forest Bold. He said they grind the coffee beans fresh to order for each pot they make. I also asked for cream with it. Much to my surprise I did not need the cream, the coffee was amazing. I am going to say it is probably the best coffee I have ever had. When he brought my coffee I had still not made a decision as to what I wanted. I asked him what was good and he recommend their Eggs Benedicts. I had never had an Eggs Benedict before but I though i would give them a shot. I went with their Parisian Benedict. it was a buttery croissant half layered with shaved ham, sautéed portabella mushrooms and melted Swiss cheese. Topped with two poached eggs, hollandaise sauce and green onions. It also came with their ranch potatoes, he told me that they bake the potatoes with ranch and garlic spices in the oven then finish them on the flat top grill to order. Lastly I ordered a side of bacon as well. It was all AMAZING! I can say out side my trips to Disney World this is the best breakfast I have ever had. It was all so good and the service was great. I can say with out a doubt that I will be coming back again and I will bring my wife along so she can try it as well.

Breakfast

After I finished eating I sat and read my book and continued to drink the delicious coffee. I had started reading a new book called Citizen Soldiers by Stephen E. Ambrose. It is a book about the GI solders in the US army during WWII starting with the invasion of France on D-Day all the way until the defeat of Germany. I have read Ambrose's Band of Brothers and loved it so when I saw this on sale for a dollar ninety nine on Amazon one day I could not pass it up.

Well about nine thirty my server at The Egg an I came over and told me they were closing early due to the weather. I was a little disappointed but he gave me a big cup of their coffee to go. So i headed to the front and paid then walked back across the street to my wife's work and spent the rest of the morning there reading in their waiting area.

Finally noon rolled around and my wife's work closed so we headed home. The main streets were really good down town when we left but the farther you got to the edge of town the worse they got. On our way home I stopped and tried to help on girl who had gotten her car stuck. Unfortunately for her it was to high centered to get out with out a tow rope and a tractor. I made sure she was ok. she was calling her boy friend to pick her up, and headed home. When I got home the drive way had a lot more snow on it then when we left. so I got my boots on and pulled out the snow blower. Unfortunately the snow was very deep and heavy so it took me about four passes of the driveway to get it cleaned off. It took me about an hour to get the driveway and the sidewalks cleaned off but it was good exercise.

Clean drive way

When I came back in my wife and I had some lunch. We made some pizza pockets that really hit the spot after being out in the cold for the last hour. Then I had a yogurt to finish off my lunch. After lunch we got caught up on some TV all afternoon. About 4 we got a call fro our relator about canceling the open house due to the weather. We decided that between the weather and the Super Bowl tomorrow we would not get a lot of people so we cancelled it and settled in for a nice night in.

About seven we finally decided to remove our selves from the couch and make some supper. My wife made Hash-brown casserole. I added a little of my new Buffalo Tabasco sauce to it and it gave it just the right amount of zing. After we ate we settled in for a movie. We had gotten The Ides Of March from netflix. It was a really good movie I would recommend it if you like political dramas. While we were watching the movie I had a bowl of ice cream. Who doesn't want some ice cream when there is a final total twelve to thirteen inches of snow on the ground?

I would say I ate pretty well today and with the snow blowing I got my exercise in. I will probably need to do a little snow clean up tomorrow but nearly as much as I did today.

Friday, February 3, 2012

February 3rd

Today was suppose to be rainy then turn to snow at some point. I didn't get up and walk again because I was tired and lazy. Plus I didn't have to pack any lunched today so it meant I could sleep in a little more. Over all the eating was ok for the day but there was no exersies to speak of.

For breakfast I got up and had my coffee, juice and oatmeal just like normal. Then I headed to work with another cup of coffee.

Since it was suppose to be rainy and or snowy today my coworkers and I had decided to order lunch in today. We ordered from a little Chinese place called Zhang's. I ordered sesame chicken, my favorite if you can't guess, with fried rice, an egg-roll and half an order(4) of crab rangoons. I ended up getting both steamed rice and a side of fried rice. The food was really good and the crab rangoons were great! I could not finish all of it so I put it in the fridge down stars by the break room for lunch on Monday. I was pretty proud of my self that I didn't just keep eating because it was in front of me. After lunch the afternoon just seemed to drag on and on. around 3:30 in the afternoon I started to get a little hungry again, as is the case with Chinese food. so I headed down to the vending machine and got a snickers. It really hit the spot and kept tided over until supper. It did not help to make the afternoon go any faster though.

After I got home we had to run back to Wal-Mart to take back the shower curtain my wife had gotten for our bathroom. The shower curtain just didn't work in the bathroom the way we had hopped. This was a terrible choice. Wal-Mart was a mad house because of the impending snow storm. Luckily after we got the new shower curtain my wife thought of checking out at the jewelery counter instead of standing in one of the long lines at the check out lanes. That saved us about thirty to forty five minutes I think. Then we headed home and put the shower curtain up and it looks really nice.

After that we made some Mmmm Noddle Soup. It really hit the spot on a cold rainy night. We also had some Ranch potato ships as well. After supper we watched some TV had some little apple crisp things my wife had bought at the store. They were little cups of apples in a sauce then after you heated them up for twenty seconds they had a little thing of oats to pour on top. They were really good and rounded out the evening nicely.

Thursday, February 2, 2012

February 2nd

I had intended on getting up and walking this morning before work but I was still catching up on sleep from my month of working seven to four so I slept in. I Did get up and have my breakfast. I had a cup of coffee, a glass of juice and a bowl of oatmeal. I have noticed that when I eat breakfast I have a little extra pep in my step in the morning.

For lunch I had another Hawaiian Hot Pocket, a string cheese, a yoghurt, and a granola bar. I was still a little hungry so I got a Twix from the Vending machine during lunch.

After work I headed to class. I got there and went to the student lounge to do some reading in my book. When got near the student lounge it seemed very busy around there. Then I realized there was a high school basketball game going on in the gym across from the student lounge. I was lucky I did not have any money on my because they had the concession stand set up in one of the entry ways in to the student lounge and the hot dogs smelled amazing!

While I was at class my wife had run home and done some cleaning up because we had some one coming to look at our house. It was their second time through the house and our agent called them a strong possible buyer. This really excited me because we had been felling a little down about the whole process. So my wife did a little sprucing up then took the cat over to my sisters and went to the store. She was then going to pick the cat up on her way home. The thing is there is a big snow storm predicted for Friday night into Saturday so the stores were a mad house. So by the time I got done with class she was just leaving the store. So I stopped and picked the cat up on my way home and she went straight home to unpack the food she had bought. Class had run a little late so by the time I got the cat it was 8:30. I figured the last thing my wife wanted to do after being trapped at the store in craziness was make supper. So I stopped at DQ (Dairy Queen) and got us some food for supper. I had a double cheese burger, fries and a lemonade. Then my wife and I split an order of cheese curds.

This marked basically the fifth time in 6 days I had eaten out at fast food. Not only am I getting tired of fast food it can not have a good reflection on the scale this weekend. I need to get back at eating at home. Plus Out of all of those meals I was not overly impressed with any of them. I feel like we make better food at home. So next week and the rest of this week is a refocus on eating at home and not going out to eat as much.

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

February 1st

Today I ate pretty good. The exercise thing I will cover but I think it was exercise.

I bet you can't guess what I had for breakfast. I had coffee, a glass of juice and a bowl of oatmeal. Then I had another cup of coffee at work and I only put one little cup of creamer in it. I am trying to work my way to black coffee because it is so much healthier for me.

For lunch I had to run some errands so I stopped at Amigos on my way back to work and grabbed some lunch. I had four soft tacos. I know that is a lot but they were the special for the day so it was cheaper to get 4 then it was to get three like I wanted. If you have ever been to Amigos you know you have to eat the tacos while the are hot or they get gross.

After work we decided to do some cleaning and de-cluttering based on some feed back we got from a showing a few weeks ago. They said the closets were too full and the bathroom was dirty. So we cleaned out the closets. We took some stuff downstairs to the storage room and some stuff out to storage. Then we moved some things from the office closet to the spare bedroom closet. The closets did look a lot better when we were done. My wife also put some more clothes in space bags to take out to storage as well. As for the dirty bathroom the only ting I could think of was the walls in the master bathroom. I had never really cleaned them since we decide to put the house up for sale. So I got out the vinegar, paper towels and the step stool and started cleaning the walls in the master bath. It took me a little while but I got all the walls cleaned and it made a surprising difference to the look of the room. Hopefully this will make the house a little more appealing to the next person that looks at it and we can get the damn thing sold.

I decided that I am going to count all the work we did as exercise for the day. It took us a few hours to get it all done. So I think a few hours of cleaning is equal to about twenty minutes of exercising.

We finally got home at about 8:30 from the storage unit and showered. For supper we had our left over chicken. I had two chicken breasts and bowl of cottage cheese with bacon bits in it. It was a really good meal but I know that eating at almost nine in the evening is not overly good for me. We use to eat at nine almost every night when we were getting the house ready to put on the market, I don;t know how we did that for months on end.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

January 31st

Today turned out to be a good day over all for all my goals of eating and exercising. I ate good all day and got some exercise in. I am pretty happy with my self after the chicken debacle yesterday.

I started they day out the usual way. I had some coffee, juice and a bowl of oatmeal. This is a nice routine I am in and I can tell it helps me get going in the morning. When I miss my breakfast the morning seems like it takes a little while to get going.

For lunch I had the left over Red Lobster from Sunday. That was a bit of a disappointment, fish and shrimp do not warm up well in the microwave I now know. I also had a yoghurt, a string cheese and a granola bar.

After work I headed to school. I spent 25 minutes walking outside around the parking lots. Once it again it felt great walking out side. I can't wait until spring when I can do it all the time. It was also the first time this month that I got two consecutive days of walking in. After my walk I did a little homework in the computer lab and read some chapters in my book for class. I learned some fun stuff in the book, that makes me feel a little like a nerd but I am ok with that. In class we spent time working on a new class project of a marina. It has a lot of different classes and some that will use inheritances and other new things that will be useful to put to practical use after reading about them.

After class I stopped by Runza and grabbed some food on my way home. I got each of us a temperature Tuesday deal. It has a Runza, a medium fry and a medium drink, I got lemon aid as my drink. I also got a bowl of cauliflower cheese soup. I was happy that I have not kept my streak of not up-sized my drink and side yet this year intact again. After supper I had a oatmeal raisin cookie we had in the cupboard while I watched TV.

Monday, January 30, 2012

January 30th

I am going to be honest I made a huge food misstep today. On the bright side I got some exercise in.

I started the day with some coffee, a glass of juice and a bowl of oatmeal before heading to work. I had some coffee on the way to work.

For lunch I had a Spicy Hawaiian hot pocket. It was delicious. It has ham and pineapple in it then some chipolte spices. It is sweet and spicy all at the same time. I also had a string cheese, a granola bar and some buffalo and ranch Doritos.

When I got home my wife and I went for a walk outside because it was so nice out. We walked around the neighbourhood for about 30 minutes. It felt really good to go outside and walk. To bad this nice weather probably will not last until spring.

My wife needed to get gas in her truck. So after our walk we took the truck to get gas and decided to grab some food on our way home and that is when I made my eating misstep. We choose Popeyes and we got chicken, biscuits and two sides of rice. I ate way to much chicken and rice and after I was done I realized that I had eaten to much. Now I need to work all that extra fat and calories off the rest of the week.

Sunday, January 29, 2012

January 29th

I want to start out by wishing my Mom a Happy Birthday! We spent the afternoon with my family for her birthday. We went to Red Lobster for lunch. This was the first time I have ever been to Red Lobster as an adult. It was good but nothing I am rushing back to. I think the server we had really hindered my experience, she was not that great and it took us for ever to get our food and get out. We got there at 12:15 and did not leave until 2:00. That is a little long for my taste but over all the food was pretty. I had the Admirals Feast, a caesar salad and cheesy biscuits. I got my salad pretty quick so I ate that and it was pretty tasty but nothing I couldn't have gotten at any restaurant in town. It took forever to get our entries as I mentioned before so I filled up on to many of their cheesy biscuits. I will say that the cheese biscuits were very good. Finally I got my entrée, it had two pieces of fried cod, some fried baby scallops, fried clam strips and fried shrimp. I also got a side of a baked potato. The fish was cooked well and the coating was very good. The Shrimp was really good and the baby scallops were delicious. The clam strips were ok but I don't think I would get them as their own meal. Because of the biscuits I ate waiting for my meal I couldn't finish my meal so I ended up boxing up half of it. My wife didn't finish hers either so we are having left over Red Lobster for supper on Monday night. Over all the food was very good and it was the type of food that I can't really get any where else in town. Over all I would give the food a good grade but the service a close to fail. For my taste if I am going to drive to that part of town there are other restaurants I would rather eat at.

After we ate we headed back to my sisters house. Mom and Dad stooped at TCBY Yoghurt and picked up a cake on their way to my sisters. When we got there we went down stairs and played some kinect games with my nephew. Mom and Dad both played a dancing game with him and they were pretty funny to watch. Then I played Carnival Games with him. He wanted to play the Skee Ball game. The sad thing is that he beat me. In my defence it did take me a few throws to figure out how the angels worked. Then my wife played a rocket ship game with him, she beat him.

After we got done playing games we went up to the kitchen and had the cake Mom and Dad had brought. It was a peanut butter frozen yoghurt cake. It was really good but when is frozen yoghurt not good.

When we got home we played some games and did some laundry before supper. For supper I made two egg sandwiches each with one and a half eggs on them. They were really good and hit the spot on a night when I was not starving. My wife made some pop corn for her supper and I munched on that a little bit while we got caught up on the three episodes Fringe(Great show you need to watch it so they don't cancel it!) we had on the DVR.

We didn't have anything to eat before we went out with my family and eating breakfast every day is something I need to work on. We did do some cleaning before we left to get ready for our open house we were having while we were gone. So I am going to count the cleaning and the kinect game as a little exercises even if it is a stretch.

Movie Review of Crazy, Stpuid, Love

This was a great movie about all the different types of love in the world and the people who fall into them. You have first time love, unrequited love, new love and old love. What is great about this movie is how it brings them all together seamlessly and keeps the whole movie moving while doing it.

The movie starts out and mostly revolves around Steve Carell's Cal Weaver and his Wife Emily, played by Julianne Moore, ending their marriage after 25 years. Cal loses everything his wife, his house and even his best friends(His wife says they as a couple have chosen to support Emily not Cal). Cal tries to move on and meets up with the shallow womanizer Jacob, played to perfection by Ryan Gosling, at a bar. Jacob take it upon him self to help Cal. He does this by changing the way he dresses and looks and showing Cal how pick up women at the bar. Eventually Cal picks up his first woman for a one night stand, Marisa Tomei, and starts turning into a womanizer like Jacob. He eventfully realizes at parent teach conferences with his ex-wife Emily, that she is the one he really loves. I don't want to ruin any surprises so I am just going to say that things end up not going well.

That was the old love story but then they tie in a fun little new love story as well. As Cal is at parent teacher conferences having his heart broken and stomped on we see Jacob run in to a girl he hit on at the beginning of the movie again named Hannah and played perfectly by Emma Stone. All she wants is for Jacob to take her home if you know what I mean. They end up back at Jacob's place and end up spending the entire night talking falling asleep next to each other. Once again I don't want to ruin anything for you so I am not going to go on any further about this story line. I will say that Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling make a cute couple.

Lastly the person who stole the show for me was Cal's son Robbie. He is 13 and in love with his babysitter who is 17 and a senior in high school. Needless to say she is not interested in him, she is actually interested in Cal witch leads to a whole different hilarious mess for Cal. Her unrequited love does not stop Robbie from endlessly pursing her through the entire movie. I have not seen Jonah Bobo in anything before but he did a very good job of playing a young teen in love and stuck in the middle of his parents divorce at the same time.

In the end this movie shows us that love can make us crazy and stupid and that not all love is not meant to be. But everyone does have a soul mate we just have to wait for them then make sure we work to keep them when we do find them.

I give this move 3 out of 4 Stars

January 29th Weigh In

I weighed my self this morning and I lost a pound! I am pretty happy about that considering I ate like junk last night. In the next week I am hoping to exercise more and eat better. I also need to make sure I eat breakfast every day even start doing it on the weekends. I think that was a big reason for my weight lose last week and a reason I only lost a pound this week. But over all I am happy that I lost weight again for the fourth straight week. Thanks for all your help interweb!